I’ve only recently begun reading David Foster Wallace. His work was introduced to me by Bryan Garner, of all people. I’ve started Infinite Jest, the first novel I’ve had to read with a dictionary nearby. I enjoy it and hope to finish it–all thousand pages of it–before the next semester.

His short story, Good People, was one I read the other evening. It’s a powerful short story about love’s place in the will and not in the intellect. It is a story about doing the right thing after one has failed. It is about lost innocence and the decision to grow up and face the consequences of one’s actions. It’s a good Sunday afternoon read, if nothing else.

Leave a Reply

