Throughout the years, I’ve been part of various religious groups and movements. Some I’ve joined casually. One I was a part of through vows. And I’ve adopted some of the spirituality of others. I’ve even found some principles to live by. All of them offer something special and unique to the Church. All of them are expressions of the many different ways we encounter the Lord and are called to bring Him to the world.

But now that I am not part of any religious group, I’m searching. I’m searching for a spirituality of the Catholic lay person, not tied to any one particular group, though influenced by all of them. At times, I’m attracted to the contemplative peace of Carmel, to the bold preaching of truth gained through study of the Dominicans, and at times to the sacrifice and solitude of the Carthusians. But none of these–at least in their full forms–are appropriate for my state in life. So the search continues.

Identified through the gift of faith by the encounter with the Redeemer, believers are called to become an echo of the event of Christ, to become themselves an “event.”

John Paul II, Message to Msgr. Luigi Giussani, Founder of Communion and Liberation

How are we called to “echo” Christ in the world? That’s what I’m trying to figure out. I’ll let you know how the search goes.

Leave a Reply

