The Prayer of Job – Blessed Be the Name of the Lord

The Lord giveth and the Lord taketh away; blessed be the name of the Lord

Job’s prayer is often more piercing than we think. There are times in life when we just cannot understand God’s will, why He gives and why He takes–and so quickly. I’m going through one of those times, but I do so with the knowledge that my son is now in the Father’s embrace. He is spared from the travails of this valley of tears and will be able to do now what he was created for: to worship God for all eternity. I do hope to meet him one day, to hold him, to share with him all that I’ve been feeling lately. For now, I rejoice in having been a father twice over now and in having a child to pray for me from above.

4 Replies to “The Prayer of Job – Blessed Be the Name of the Lord”

  1. I followed the link from Catholic Dads. Aaron, I’m praying for you tonight. I admire your strength – not that you have any choice in the matter, but you have decided to praise God in your sorrow. Our Lady of Sorrows will comfort you and your wife.

  2. My wife and I went through this in January. We had told the kids, family, and friends. And just like that, it was over. God bless you as you deal with this. This was the second miscarriage for us, after an ectopic 4 years ago. We have 3 healthy kids – 9, 7, and 5 – but it doesn’t make it any easier. Especially after it happened a second time. I know the baby is in a better place than we could provide, but it’s just hard to understand why. We still have our bad days. I’ll keep you in prayer.

Leave a Reply

